Ive been playing guitar for approximately 7 months now. I sat my self down and only practiced theory and beginner books stuff from my lessons and wanted to master that stuff before actually playing rock covers and stuff. After a while (aka a month ago) I decided to actually play the covers regardless of my progress.

Most of the music has just been chugging power chords. Which for the most part is fine except that it doesn't sound too clean when I play a power vhord with a root on the 5th string. It sounds terrible with distortion most likely because I am hitting the sixth string.

Ive been told I have several ways to deal with this.

A) Mute the sixth string with my index finger (finger holding down the root) by barely touching the sixth string from under.

B) Mute the sixth string with my middle finger (which isn't being used)

C) Just not hitting the sixth string ( seems the least likely choice seeing as you often wont have enough time to be that precise)

What do you do/what do most guitarists do?

Any possible advice on the topic would be appreciated. Please no flames, i know it seems like a dumb question.
Last edited by XeRoXyoS at Sep 7, 2008,
Use the sixth string.

Instead of this:
x577xx

play this:
5577xx

Option A is a very good choice though. Its what I do and I felt like it required little practice.
Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V

Marshall MG100HDFX
Marshall MA50C

Boss DS-1
Digitech RP50
Digitech Whammy IV
Vox V847 Wah Pedal
Trust me, the first way works the best. I had the same problem, but after about a week or so of practicing power chords with my 1st finger barley touching the E string, it got to be muscle memory and now I always do them this way. Still, experiment and practice and you'll find what works best for you.
I'd go with C, but when playing them with 5th string roots I tend to palm mute the 6th string anyways to avoid accidentally scraping it if I strum hard. Practice the Godzilla riff by Blue Oyster Cult.