The title is kinda self explanatory. I'm a bass player who loves fx, but hates the lack of options when buying true, made for (or even works for) bass effects pedals. I have no experience building or modding pedals, but really want to learn and thought this might be a good place to start. So I have a few questions:
What exactly is the difference between guitar and bass fx (I mean physical diffeneces, not "they're made for lower frequencies.")?

and

How could I change between the two?
Quote by C0_0kie
guitar solo - "meh, every song got one"
bass solo - "OMGZ0R U IS PRO MENZ"

Quote by lucertia.
fapfapfapfapfapfap

burgerburgerburgerburger

Quote by DeAd-RiP
Sir I would like to sex your bass.
Basses put out a higher voltage than guitars. A guitar's amplitude peaks at about 100mV. Basses, if I remember correctly, peak at about 500mV-1V.

The reason some pedals (even guitar amps) can't be used for basses is because the higher amplitude can over-load the pedal/guitar amp. Some pedals, however, can safely be used with a bass (flangers and wahs are the only ones I know of).

For your first project, you could get a Crybaby Original and replace the sweep cap with a .068-ish cap. Viola! You now have a Crybaby Bass Wah. That's the only difference between the Originals and Bass Wahs, btw. So doing this saves you a big chunk of money.
Would that work with a q-zone? It's a cool concept and almost the same wiring as a crybaby (I think). Plus, I already have (or will have. should arrive in the mail any day now) a Morley PWB. Though that would be a cool one to mod like that also. It works for bass (Cliff Burton used it), but it sounds like it saps a lot of low end.
Quote by C0_0kie

Quote by lucertia.
fapfapfapfapfapfap

burgerburgerburgerburger

Quote by DeAd-RiP
so where can I get sweep caps?
Quote by C0_0kie

Quote by lucertia.
fapfapfapfapfapfap

burgerburgerburgerburger

Quote by DeAd-RiP