Page 1 of 2
hey!
ive been playing guitar for about 6 months now and have really enjoyed it with only a few set backs. a while back i had an itching for bass but promptly dismissed it.

it came back again last week,... then i saw opeth over the weekend and realised how much a bass can and does add to a song, and have been picking up bass lines since.

i have a few basic questions... yes i have read the FAQ but i need a few opinions.

first of all : i started with a fender guitar pack... turns out it was pretty crappy... amp doesnt last... guitar is rather shoddy quality parts... i guess its what you expect from basic basic stuff. so in short, are bass beginner packs any good at all or should i be better off to invest in a decent bass like the ones in the faq... and a decent amp? and then maybe some books or something?

other than this site, any decent reference sites going around? theres a few really good guitar ones, but it seems this is slightly less so for bass.

cheers, hope i get some help here so yeh thanks in advance =)
I’m quite new to the bass as well,

I did some investigation and for my tastes the squier basses just didn’t feel right and being a newbie I didn’t know if I should choose a P or J bass. I tested quite a few basses and it came down to a choice between the Yamaha RBX170 and the Ibanez GSR200 (both have a p & a j pickup). After some testing and retesting I chose the Ibanez and I was able to get an Ibanez GSR200, Gig Bag, Lead and a Fender Rumble 15 (same as in the fender starter pack) for pretty much the same price (little less actually) as the starter pack.

So test go test em out and chose the one that you like the best, I don’t think you save much if anything buying in a pack.