I've been only playing for about a month and a half, recently I started learning power chords and bar chords. I wake up in the morning and my thumb and palm area hurt like hell IF I stretch it, like I went to grab my blanket cause it was chilly and it was by my foot, POW, omg it's like the pain you get when you stretch a pulled muscle. This has been happening for 5 days now, I have been searching a lot about RSI, tendinitis, and what not. All I can say about that is, I don't really have many of the symptoms for those, and I actually play barre chords + power chords WITHOUT my thumb just because I'm so afraid of getting tendinitis. If I do use it, it's there barely touching anything. I tried the tendinitis test, where you wrap your thumb with your fingers and pull downward, it only hurts in the morning but not much, like right now I can do that all day long, it still could be tendinitis, but it'd have to be the very beginning. I've stopped playing for 1 day now, today being day 2. Also (jesus this is getting long, sorry hah) I have no pain whatsoever while playing, it is slightly sore at the moment though. What do you guys think it could be?
If you are playing acoustic it may be your string tension, I would also advise using the thumb to help take stress off the rest of your hand.
Gear
Jekyll and Hyde
DD3 Delay
NS2 Noise gate
FAB chorus
Crybaby 535Q
HT-5 stack
1979 Gretsch BST 1000
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Schecter Gryphon
Fender American Strat
Taylor T5 Custom
www.facebook.com/fadeoutproductions
dude check a doctor,
quit playing guitar for a while, seriously you should, if its been hurting for 5 days it probably something serious, or not.

leave it for a few days and dont even touch your guitar then play it, if it still hurts definitely check a doctor
I see you're not using the UG black theme

Originally posted by GOD
akm_202, i now announce you, king of awesome. You may bow down to me.