Hey,
I currently have a Fender Strat imitation. Its my first guitar so at first I figured that the screeching strings and general horrible fuzz that occurs with distortion (and the weak squek when I attempt to play anything heavier than Dance Dance) were normal. However, at my friends house I played his Ibanez Jem and the sound quality was amazing. No squek, no horrible car-wreck fuzz.
So, now I'm considering buying an Ibanez. Theres plenty of range (and also plenty of high costs) but I narrowed it down to the GRG 170 DX (a Jem is out of my price range). As a novice, I have no idea if this is a good choice to make.
Someone help?
Last edited by Papa Luigi at Sep 9, 2008,
I have one and am really pleased with it, for the price it is a really nice guitar. The pickups aren't the best, but they're not terrible either, just make sure you have a decent amp first.
Gear:
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Ibanez GRG170DX
Peavey Vypyr 75
Fender Princeton 650 DSP w/ Celestion 80w speaker
What amp do you have?
Besides being a guitar player, I'm a big fan of the guitar. I love that damn instrument. Steve Vai

Gear:
Kramer Striker FR422SM
Roland Microcube
Digitech Bad Monkey
Dunlop Tortex 1.14mm picks

MY VIDEOS
I've got a proper Marshall amp - an MG10CD- thats why I figured it was the guitar not the amp.
Quote by Papa Luigi
I've got a proper Marshall amp - an MG10CD- thats why I figured it was the guitar not the amp.

lmao
Ok, the MG series are terrible amps compared to the Marshalls you're probably thinking of.
Also remember than the amp makes a HUGE chunk of your tone. A bad guitar through a high-end custom amp will sound amazing.

Therefore, I suggest you buy a new amp.
i used to have one and i think it's a really good one for it's price.
decent pickups.
good action height.
durable parts