Hello UG'ers

I just started playing guitar about 3 months ago, but I've been lurking for a while. I have been making progress, and learned some simple songs from Three days Grace, Green Day, Blink 182, etc. The problem is I dont really enjoy any of these songs that much.

Most of my favorite bands are The Fall of Troy, Avenged Sevenfold, , Pantera, Black Label Society, Lamb of God, Iron Maiden, Atreyu, the list goes on.. Anyways.. I mainly got this guitar for my entertainment, and being able to play some of my favorite tunes, and then tackle music theory further down the road.

How would u recommend I go about my learning process to eventually be able to play these type of songs? I know that I'll never be able to play most of these at full speed for a year or two, but technique wise, I want to start developing a good skill set and good technical ability before I worry about speed. Any help?
You can't rush into things like going onto maiden keep with the basic songs and then move on to some harder ones. Just don't go from playing smoke on the water to something Lamb of God. If you want to learn some of the heavyer songs learn there main riff's so you have a base to build from. I've been playing just short of a year i still don't play much of that heavey stuff i've only just started on the A7X.
Hope that helps
you expect to play hard songs after three months of practice. I've been playing 4 years and still have trouble learning hard songs.
If you like Metallica, "For Whom The Bell Tolls" is pretty easy. That might keep you satisfied until you become better.
Josh Homme writes the greatest lyrics EVAR:
"I wish we could get away
Drink wine and screw"

"Nicotine, valium, vicodin, marijuana, ecstasy, and alcohol
C-C-C-C-Cocaine!"

"I wanna lick you too much"

Own this Black Sabbath shirt?
Better to go through the basics first so that you may later understand songs.