ok so, i somehow got convinced into giving guitar lessons to this 10 year old kid. ive been playing guitar for years and ive never given lessons.

so basically, im asking, what are some things i can teach a 10 year old kid to play or to practice? im stuck... because i never took lessons, i just learnt on my own through tabs and a few online lessons and just fooling around most of the time.

any suggestions or good lessons on here about giving lessons?

thanks
Quote by Gunpowder
Just remember, you can't spell "Ugly" without "UG"

Quote by tands

nasstyman you are full of win in the same way tobacco companies are full of ****
Ask the kid what songs he likes if its somethign stupidly hard then suggest a easier one then teach him that song just talk him through it when you teach him.
absolute beginner... it sucks. i went to his house last week and he's left handed and he was playing his guitar upside down... i almost killed myself
Quote by Gunpowder

Quote by tands

nasstyman you are full of win in the same way tobacco companies are full of ****
begin with some open chords (build them up a finger at a time if necessary) and find some simple songs to go with them so that they can practice playing songs rather than just chords.
when they get slightly more advanced and can play some more complex chords you can teach keys and the theory behind them. maybe some simple lead guitar but I'd stick with chords first until they build up some rythym.
Quote by griffRG7321
become a circumsizer, you get like £60,000 a year + tips.

Quote by Flying Couch
Because I'm not aerodynamic. All the other airborne furniture laugh at me.

LIKE PORTISHEAD?
i thought him the intro to dammit by blink 182 and an A and E chord last week. is an hour lesson too long at this point? i was thinking 30min would be sufficient
Quote by Gunpowder

Quote by tands