So i've been playing guitar for a little over 5 months now, and I think i'm advancing pretty well. But I noticed I pick mainly from my fingers, like I only move my wrist to reach certain strings, but I do not move my wrist hardly at all when i'm just picking (as in single strings, if its two or more strings at once I normally move my wrist)

so should I work on picking with my wrist, or keep at it with just moving my fingers?
Well, if you want precise and quick picking, then keep doin wat you're doin. But if you aim toward strummin a lot, move from the elbow. But wat you're doin sounds fine to me.
I had the same problem when I first started playing, but the best way to pick is from the wrist, not the fingers. I'd recommend changing your technique asap, once you're doing it correctly you'll be able to progress to a much higher level much faster. As far as the elbow goes, when you're picking you don't want your elbow to move hardly at all, this is an issue most people have when they're playing, and it really hinders them. You want your elbow to stationary, moving only slightly when switching strings. And finally, for strumming you want to use your wrist and your elbow, but don't just realy on your elbow to do it, be sure to sue your wrist too :P.
Schecter Fan Club!

My gear:

Schecter Hellraiser Avenger
Epiphone Les paul Slash Signature
Ovation 2778LX
Boss DD-20
Dimebag Crybaby from Hell
Kustom Quad 100DFX
Vox AD100VT-XL
Last edited by GNRrocka at Sep 9, 2008,
How would one pick without moving their wrist? I thought picking using your wrist was the most natural thing you could ever do...
YEAH