A local music shop appears to be offering guitar lessons for $18/half hour. I've been playing for nearly 4 months now. I get together and "jam" per se with one of my buddies (who knows guitar really well) about once every 2-3 weeks for a few hours and he teaches me a bunch of stuff. I love playing together with my friend and I appreciate the fact that he's helping me out of his own time, but I think I could be evolving better/faster if I also take like a half-hour lesson a week.

What do you guys think? Also how can I tell if I get a "good" teacher or not. I guess I'm worried that I don't waste my money.
Lessons are always good. Even if you are learning stuff off your buddy, the teacher may know different stuff which can also help you.

You can tell a good teacher if you understand what he's trying to teach you, and you are improving as a result of your teaching. Also $18/half hour seems like a reasonable price to me.
The good thing about a teacher is that they'll tell you certain ways to position your wrist, arm, elbow, fingers, whatever, that can really help your technique. Your friend can help with riffs and all that, as can a teacher, but a teacher can really help you progress. I had a teacher for 2 or 3 years, and have been teaching myself after getting a good amount of education under my belt. Since then, it's been nothing but UG!
Quote by brentondig
The good thing about a teacher is that they'll tell you certain ways to position your wrist, arm, elbow, fingers, whatever, that can really help your technique. Your friend can help with riffs and all that, as can a teacher, but a teacher can really help you progress. I had a teacher for 2 or 3 years, and have been teaching myself after getting a good amount of education under my belt. Since then, it's been nothing but UG!

My friend mostly helps with chord progression, scales and a few basics of music theory. I hope one day to be even remotely as good as him.