Hi, I've recently been looking to buy the mxl 990/991 kit and audio buddy package to record fingerstyle guitar. I'm just wondering if i'd lose much quality if i plugged the audio buddy straight into my mic-in port on my laptop? I've got a conexant high definition sound card.

Also i'm new to all this recording stuff, so i just want to make sure ive got this right.
I need to use xlr cables to plug the mics into the preamp, then 1/4 inch cables going from the preamp into an 1/8 inch adapter and then the adapter into the mic in, right?

Thanks, Dave.
You wont get great quality but it will work. You will have some latency though, (delays) which may mess up your playing.
At the very least, get some type of interface....even if its something like the toneport UX1 which has the two inputs at the back which you can run the Audio Buddy into.
The GX is harder to work with but would also work...

Or you can skip the preamp and just get a different interface such as the PreSonus Inspire 1394 which has everything you need to run the MXL mics. The audio buddy isnt all that great anyways so the PreSonus would be a better choice IMO.

The audio buddy has two mono outputs so you would need a Y cable to get that to the stereo line in on your laptop.
If you only have a mic port on the laptop simply run a mono TS cable from the #1 output of the preamp to your mic port.
Last edited by moody07747 at Sep 11, 2008,
Quote by moody07747
You wont get great quality but it will work. You will have some latency though, (delays) which may mess up your playing.
At the very least, get some type of interface....even if its something like the toneport UX1 which has the two inputs at the back which you can run the Audio Buddy into.
The GX is harder to work with but would also work...