ive been playing electric guitar for a few years now, and havent really run into any major problems. now ive run into one and im looking for some advice.

guitar: PRS Tremonti SE
cables: monster
distortion pedal: boss ds-1
amp: peavey classic 30

basically the problem is simple: when im plugged in, even at relatively low volumes (amp is at like 2-3 when im playing in the bedroom), i get this major humming sound. even when i dampen the strings it continues. i noticed the humming does stop when i put a few fingers (one alone doesnt work) on the bridge pickup... so i assume that the humbucker has gone bad, or something of that nature. anyone know for sure what the problem could be? id like to solve this ASAP, as im not playing much these days, due solely to the fact that i cannot stand the humming. it hums whether or not i am playing, if that makes a difference. thanks!
its probably a wiring problem, it might not be grounded properly or something came loose.
i used to be a mod, then i took an arrow in the knee.
Have you tried plugging directly into the amp without the pedal?

Tried a different guitar? (you could take it to a store and ask them to let you plug a verified, working guitar into it)

Tried a different cable?

Tried switching to the clean channel on your amp or adjusting the gain to see if that makes a difference?

Make sure before you go assuming it's a bad pickup. It may just end up being a cable or some such and you could potentially end up saving yourself a little cash (especially since monsters have a lifetime warrenty)
-Guitar Gear-
1995 American Fender Strat, EMG 85 pup
Randall RH200 Head
Marshall 1960a Cab
Woods Acoustic
-Bass Gear-
Spector Legend 4 bass
Washburn Bantam bass
Hartke HA2500
Fender Bassman 410H
Play what you love, love what you play