Okay, basically I've been playing the guitar for about 7 years, but I have only been serious about it for the past 3 years. I've played with a handful of guitar players, in all different styles, and all of them have been surprised that I dont use a pick. For the first 4 years, I was trained classical, and I never used a pick. I was wondering, do you guys think I should start using a pick?

I've always been proud that I haven't - it's set me apart. And it's not like im a slow player, I can play moderately fast, and I can tremelo (I like flex my thumb or something, not too sure, but I can do it.)
I would suggest it, just because it is a different path in which to make music, and you can never have too many paths.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
Theory is descriptive, not prescriptive.

Quote by MiKe Hendryckz
theory states 1+1=2 sometimes in music 1+1=3.
Honestly, if you have an avenged sevenfold avatar, then yes i would learn it. If you enjoy that style of music, then its always nice to branch out and try to learn it like it was meant to be played.
Mark Knopfler doesn't use a pick, and he plays just fine.
Quote by Altered_Carbon
That's some bony hipster sex, which may be the best kind.
its not like you will lose ability by trying something new. im impressed you never considered using a pick. picking has their share of techniques as well as fingers. its always awesome to increase your horizon.
I have considered it before - I've even bought a pack of Tortex picks, I think a some .7 or something like that? I tried using and found it too awkward, and put them somewhere. I've recently found them which has made me reconsider. Can anyone name guitarists who don't use picks?
Oh, and btw, I listen to alot heavier music then Avenged Sevenfold. They're actually one of the softest bands I listen to/play.
Quote by ShrimpthePimp