I'm just starting to record on my laptop mic, and was looking to buy some stuff to really start making some good recordings.

All I do is vocals and an acoustic guitar, and I already have my microphone picked out and stuff, I just need a good interface (FireWire or USB) that has an input for a mic, and phantom power for the mic.

Around 100 bucks it what I've got to spend for now, but if more is needed, I can wait.

I'm new to all of this, so any suggestions would be appreciated.
I would say definitely wait. I was in the same boat as you a couple months ago, I really wanted to record, and I was in ahurry to buy an interface, and i was looking to spend about $100, so I bought a Lexicon Alpha, which don't get me wrong, it's not bad. but you can only record one mic at a time, and if you want to record vocals and guitar at the same time, you will want something alot more versatile. I would recommend one of these.
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Digidesign-Mbox-2-USB-Audio-Interface?sku=240479
you'll have to save up your money a bit, but it will be worth it. even if you don't take my advice, all I can say is, do your research before you buy, and make sure it's absolutely what you want.
Founder of the C.F. Martin & Co. Guitar Owners club.
YOU........should join if you have a Martin.....!!!!
JOIN

My Band: Abaton

Abaton

Check out some of the acoustic stuff on my profile if you want
ART Dual Pre. $99, two XLR inputs (if you want to use two microphones for acoustic), and phantom power. Don't forget to get a good software to complement it...Reaper, Mixcraft, something. It's also has balanced outputs. The MBox is overpriced, IMHO.
Quote by keiron_d
thank you sooooooo much for the advice Fast_Fingers...i would hug you if i could...i looooove you!

True love exists in UG. Can you feel it?

Recording Guitar Amps 101