Whenever I play with my pinky and third finger combination, the muscle on the edge of my hand becomes incredibly tense, very quickly. I'm pretty sure its not supposed to get this tense, it gets like it even when I'm playing very slowly and my pinky becomes practically useless because the muscle gets so tired.

Thoughts?

For those who don't know me I've been playing for 6 years and I do exercises for coordination and strength regularly.
Originally posted by TapMaster
If you break a JEM you know your going to go to hell when you die

Only member of the 'This is too immature for me' club.
The main reason that I can think of would be that you just haven't used that combination of fingers enough; try building speed and stamina on some trilling exercises using only those two fingers and see if that helps.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
The main reason that I can think of would be that you just haven't used that combination of fingers enough; try building speed and stamina on some trilling exercises using only those two fingers and see if that helps.

da.

train those all. but especially 3rd and 4th finger trills. or just legato up and down the fretboard with string skipping, etc etc.
I suppose thats the answer, I'll try doing just do those exercises for a few hours a night and see if it improves. Like I said I've been playing for years and have always used those two fingers.

Quote by public property
I suppose thats the answer, I'll try doing just do those exercises for a few hours a night and see if it improves. Like I said I've been playing for years and have always used those two fingers.