when i come around - green day

ok the the chords are G D E C

i assume its in G something ?
what scale should i use? just G pentatonic?
correct me if i'm wrong !

thx for your help
It's in G, but if you're going to use a pentatonic scale, use G Major Pentatonic, otherwise you'll be out of key.

Learn your pentatonic scales and your major & minor (and learn the theory behind the scales) before you start improvising.
Jackson Kelly KE3 w/P-Rails; Aria Pro II TSB-350
• ZVex Fuzz Factory; DigiTech Whammy; Danelectro Fish & Chips; Marshall ED1; Fulltone OCD; DigiTech Whammy; Marshall JMP1; Boss CE3; Vox AC4TV

EMU 0404; Reason/Record; M-Audio AV40
Learn the modes, they really aren't as difficult as you might think if you hear about them the first time...
I started learning them on the 3 higher strings, by that you can also see them as shapes you can move over the fretboard.
Good luck, hf!
actually its in F#..
you play these chords on an Eb tuned guitar..
therefore on an E tuned guitar you play in F#
Hmm, I always thought it was in G, just tuned down. A couple of reasons:

1. at the end of the verse ("cuz you know where I'll be fou....nd") (or whatever the heck he's singing), you have an A chord then a C chord, that first chord sounds like an open A chord, if you were in F# that A would instead be a G# chord, which of course couldn't be played open, you'd have to use a power chord instead. Open A chord (played barreing first finger) has a very distinctive, basic, loud rock sound.

2. the "solo" (I use the term lightly, heh heh) could be played using the open G string if you were in G

-3-----------5----------
---3---3-------3---3----
-----0-----------0------
------------------------
------------------------
------------------------

but obviously not in F#, you'd have to use a more unusual fingering, which isn't really his style, he's pretty basic in most ways.
Quote by Jokaaa