I've got an Ibanez RG321 with some upgraded pickups. I'm happy with the guitar, it plays smooth and has a nice tone from the pickups. But alas, I got suckered into buying a spider amp when I was a noob. I'm a much better player, and now need an amp with a good tone, and good enough for gigging.
So I've been shopping around for a tube amp, and I believe a Valveking is what I want. I play all types of metal from Metallica to Killswitch Engage to Lamb of God to Trivium. Can the Valveking get this heavy distortion? Will I need a OD/Distortion pedal? My price range is around $500-$600, but can extend up to about $700-$800 USD (maybe).

Sorry for the wall of text
Gear:
B-52 ATX-100
Mesa Oversized recto 4x12
Jackson DKMG (w/ BareKnuckle Warpigs )
Ibanez Acoustic

Feel free to add me or PM me.
search for "the valveking thread" common response is it cant do metal without a OD boost pedal, such as a tubescreamer.
Paul Reed Smith CE22
Fender Spalted Maple HH Tele
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Korg Pitchblack
Boss GE-8 Graphic EQ
Dunlop ZW Wah
BBE Two Timer
Mesa/Boogie Mark IV Combo
Mesa/Boogie Rectifier 212

www.myspace.com/shapesofgrey
Id look into a used 5150combo or engl screamer for 800 bucks or maybe a jsx combo. Im not familiar on the used price on those though
well if he's asking about the VK i highly doubt that his budget can afford a 5150 or JSX combo.

The VK is a good amp, just not for those genre's u listed. You can make it hit close to the tone you want with an OD, but i can guarantee your not going to get the tone you want with the VK. I suggest a Peavey XXX combo. you can find them used for cheap and they can get very heavy
Peavey XXX combo *upgraded screen resistors, Tung-Sol's, and 6L6's*
Schecter Syn Std. * modded, scalloped, and worn*
Schecter C-1 Elite *still sexy*
Ibanez AEL 12-string

"He who sticks his dick in peanut butter is fucking nuts"
5150 Combo
Bugera 6260 Combo
ENGL Screamer
TO ALL MY KILLERS AND MY HUNDRED DOLLAR BILLERS...