Page 1 of 2
Why does the bass lines in Iron Maiden always stick out like a guitar line and the bass lines in Slayer and Metallica and other thrash metal bands are mostly inaudible?

(I'm a beginner musician, don't flame me!)
because Harris is amazing and they just boost the bass compared to guitars volumes I guess
its not really like that but what im thinking is the heavier distortion and lower tuings of the guitar of slayer etc overpower the bass line but sooner or later you will be able to pick them out like nothing just focus in takes some time though
Quote by RevaM1ssP1ss
The 2 best colours EVER pitted against each other? No wai!

I voted lime.

Quote by SeveralSpecies
btw lime kicked ass

Member of the Bass Militia PM Nutter_101 to join
Team Lime Green!
Because Steve Harris' tone cuts through the mix like a knife, and the guitarists if Iron Maiden cut back on the lows a little unlike most of today's metal guitarists, so he also makes up most of the low end too.
Quote by skater dan0
Damn you and your ninja-like modding
Quote by fleajr_1412
Because Steve Harris' tone cuts through the mix like a knife, and the guitarists if Iron Maiden cut back on the lows a little unlike most of today's metal guitarists, so he also makes up most of the low end too.

thats exactly what i was getting at but you said it better kudos to you
Quote by RevaM1ssP1ss
The 2 best colours EVER pitted against each other? No wai!

I voted lime.

Quote by SeveralSpecies
btw lime kicked ass

Member of the Bass Militia PM Nutter_101 to join
Team Lime Green!
Cause Steve Harris isn't a lazy bassist.
Gear:
Epiphone G-400 Ebony
Line-6 UberMetal, EchoPark
Boss RC-2 Loop Station
Traynor YCV50Blue, Bass Mate 25, Guitar Mate 15
Quote by black-sabbath
Cause Steve Harris isn't a lazy bassist.