I've been playing guitar for about 13 months now I'd say, and I've been borrowing my friend's guitar while he's stationed in Korea. It's a very starter-cheap epiphone les paul special. It ...sucks. The pickups are weak, the neck is so thick and rough, and there's so much fretbuzz I can't have more than one note at a time ring (trying Nothing Else matters solo, it's impossible with this thing to sound good)

Basically I'm looking for something that would sound a little heavy, with "crunchy" palm mutes, the one I have now is just like a quiet quiet note. I'm looking to spend $500 at most, and I already have a great amp, so what would you guys suggest? Thanks
^^ That guitar's ****ing ugly as hell lol I'm looking to play thrash which is why I needed some good pickups to get a heavy "crunch" vibe to it.

I saw these two, what's yall think

http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/ESP-LTD-FX260-Spalted-Maple?sku=512886

http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Ibanez-RG370DXGP-Electric-Guitar?sku=512367

And then of course there's the ESP LTD EX400 which is basically James Hetfields so ...hmm
I'd get the EX400... I really don't like that spalted maple finish on the FX260.. It's ugly...
Get a nice EX or an EC
Quote by cedaguol
I'd get the EX400... I really don't like that spalted maple finish on the FX260.. It's ugly...
Get a nice EX or an EC

Well it's cheaper and I actually kinda like it, it's different. Aside from looks is that a good guitar? That's all I gotta know
I decided I'd either get an FX-260 or the EX-400, and it's probably gonna be the FX. So what's the main difference between the two? And wtf is a push-pull coil tap
EX-400>FX-260, mainly in the pickup aspect. I doubt that LTD in-house pickups are very good.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors