I have taken advice to practise on the clean channel and use a metronome these past few months but i've noticed that I haven't managed to successfully increase in speed in a week.

i started playing the same lick at 40bpm (all semi quaver triplets, which equates at 4nps - very slow.

i then turned up the metronome 1 until i found it slightly challenging. it was roughly 70bpm that this happened, so i played for ten minutes at this speed and then turned it up 1, continuing until the next time i struggled a bit. then i got to 90, and struggled a bit, kept practicing and managed to get to 105 bpm. in the last week i haven't moved from there at all - any suggestions?

if you want to hear crappy recordings, i have one up in skills called 'alternate picking clean'(iirc) which is this specific lick at 100 with no overdrive - but the crap mic distorts it a bit

theres also a recording at 180 called 'alternate picking' with drive at max just to see how fast i can show off to my friends

"The mind is its own place, and in itself

Can make a Heav'n of Hell, a Hell of Heav'n"

- John Milton, Paradise Lost
Quote by metallicafan616
In the last week i haven't moved from there at all - any suggestions?

If you honestly can't go any faster then there must be something wrong with your technique whether it's tension in your playing or excess movement. Is it at all possible for you to post a video of yourself? Audio doesn't tell us that much really.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
If you honestly can't go any faster then there must be something wrong with your technique whether it's tension in your playing or excess movement. Is it at all possible for you to post a video of yourself? Audio doesn't tell us that much really.