well recently i had a problem when i'm trying new guitars at the shop (i'm a beginner who doesnt know a lot of songs) so whenever i'm trying guitar, i always play some beast harlot riff or plug in baby from muse..

I realize it's isn't catchy, and neither of those could tell me whether the guitar is good or not,, so.. are there such things as songs that you can play to show off, and to know whether the sound is good or not..??

PS: i'm really a beginner
You don't have to show off you know, that's just gonna make people seem like you're a dick. Just play whatever you want to play.
Cam Sampbell's my hero
Quote by stratdud39
well i usually do improv soloing, with a lotta pinch harmonics, and tapping.
i do eruptiion too(which is basically all thosethings i just sed)

I decided I want to be more like the people on ug...

Searchbar!!!

That oughta do it.

Time for a supercool guitar demonstration by herman li,

Herman Li- why is this guitar so big?

Stage guy- because its a bass herman

Whenever I'm in a guitar shop I play most obnoxious, out of tune, disgusting riff I can think of. Thats right, I play some Nickelback lol Seriously though, when I'm in a guitar shop no one is there to show off or watch people show off. Your only trying out the guitar for yourself, just to see how it plays, play what you'd normally play
whenever i'm trying out a new axe, i like to just play random licks, most of them i come up with on the spot, but then i always try to try playing a hardcore song and a slower, more acoustic-y song, seeing as thiose are the two genres i play most
the intor to roses for the dead, it looks great but is frighteningly easy, or thunderstruck intro byt ACDC
Quote by boreamor
Ah very good point. Charlie__flynn, you've out smarted me

People
should
smile
more

crit4crit on 'acoustic 1 (with piano)' here

Rate my playing skills please.
Quote by umbrellacorp