Hi all, im learning how to play Hey joe by Hendrix. Im very new to guitar and i am having some problems. The chord progression is C,G,D,A,E. The problem im having is no matter how hard i practise i just can't change fom C to G anywhere near fast enough. Ive practised for about 4 hours now just on this song but i just can't seem to master it. Any suggestions ?
You could try doing the "other" version of the C chord (I'm assuming C and G are major chords), which has the high e string (The sixth) on fret 3, which is also where the G major is.
Otherwise, keep practicing.
barre chords, or get better. four hours is not enough, learning to play guitar takes time.
Quote by monkeysintheday
I have trained a live tarantula to calm and sit on my guitar due to the awesome powers of my rocking. When I am not playing it angrily bounces about my room hitting everything that isn't me.

Quote by stef123

rageagainst64 you are a legend!
practice, practice, practice.

everybody has trouble when they first start. start off playing it slow, then work your way up to doing it faster.
Quote by Ichimaru
I've always wanted to meet a really hot readhead so that I could tell her name is Moses and I'm here to see the burning bush.
I play it with bar chords. Found it to be easier that way. Also with heabier songs it is a better sound than the open strings.
use this G chord:

Its used more commonly in rock music then the normal g major chord and is easier in my opinion
RIP George Carlin (1937-2008)
Quote by rageagainst64
barre chords, or get better. four hours is not enough, learning to play guitar takes time.

+1

Depending on how far away the song is from your current ability level it might take days or even weeks to nail it.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com