Hi, I know hardly anything about how electric guitars work. I got a Hagstrom Swede and it's been bothering me because the volume knobs are terrible. 0 is no volume, 3 is max volume, and everything between 3 and 10 on the knob are all the same.

What can I do to improve the volume pot so that the volume changes more accordingly to how far i turn the knob? Do I have to buy new parts and will I need tools to do it?

I'm really a beginner completely, so please try to make answers as simple as possible!
You'll probably need new pots. I'm fairly certain that those aren't going to be adjustable. I'm not sure what k pots you'll need, somebody else might. But you'll need a soldering gun and a basic understanding of how to do it. Chances are, you're better off paying somebody to do it, and watching, so that you'll know how to do it next time.

EDIT: you need 500K pots. Where do you live?
I'm putting my GAS on hold
for a couple months in order to pimp my ride.

Don't judge me.
Last edited by theoreticmusic at Sep 14, 2008,
ok thanks for your advice. I'll probably bring it to a repair shop.
oh wow, those are cheaper than i expected. how much is a soldering gun?
Also is this problem almost definitely related to the pots or is there a chance that i could do this and it wouldnt fix it
^ like $10 or maybe a little more. and you'll need rosin-core electrical solder, which is like $2.
Gibson SG Faded
Epi VJ Stack

Quote by Øttər
Whenever I clean my guitars, my family wonders why it smells so good; I say that I exude a fresh citrus scent from hidden orifices.
They stopped asking
so in brief if i were to attempt this myself i would have to
1: Buy a soldering gun, rosin-core solder, and the new pots
2: Remove the old pots from my guitar (do i snip the wire or rip it off?)
3: Put in the new pot and solder each wire onto the same place they were on on the old pot
exaclty, except use the soldering gun to loosen the solder and the remove the wires, dont rip them or cut them off.