On my usual guitar, the bridge is in just the right place that i often find the heel of my palm resting on it (not solidly anchored though)....

When i played a Strat recently, i found the bridge seemed much further back and my palm was resting on the strings a lot of the time, but not muting the string/s i was playing.

Is that how it is for you Strat guys?
My palm does not rest on the bridge nor the strings. But I'm a complete newbie so maybe I'm doing something wrong?
Well to play cleanly your supposed to mute the strings, i think, so yes I do.
i like to anchor my hand to something, whether it be the body or the strings. especially when im soloing, where your generally just playing the top 3 strings, i put my palm on the bottom 2
It doesn't, my palm rests lightly on the bridge just past the strings so I'm always ready to palm mute.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
You don't want to anchor, but you do want to be able to mute the strings. Muting the high strings with your fretting hand index finger and the low strings with your palm. But not anchoring to the body of the guitar that limits movement.

Ensure that you have the same pick angle on all strings, it shouldn't alter between high and low strings. If it is and your pick is switching directions this means you are anchoring and not moving your hand. Start off by not anchoring is the way to go. ALways movement to be a lot more fluid and free.

Read FreePowor's lessons. I believe they are stickied in the Advanced Technique forums. Lessons are great if you have never seen them.
MY GEAR:

ESP LTD MH-50 W/ TREMOLO
ROLAND CUBE 15X
BOSS DS-2 TURBO DISTORTION
Dunlop Ultrex Jazz III
NEW: Dunlop Dimebag Crybaby from Hell
NEW: EHX: Small Clone Chorus Pedal