so im in college for music industry so i can get a degree as a producer and im taking bass lessons as my instrument major...now i can play well (not a prodigy but i know my way around a bass) but i cant read standard notation so my instructor kidna assumed me as a noob until i jammed something while he was looking for book and then he realized i know what im doing...

anywho..he told me im good but i need to learn the basics cause i've developed bad habits being self-taught. like i need to keep my thumb on the back of the neck and my hand open since i tend to pull my thumb close to the low e and my palm within centimeters of the other side of the neck...also i fingerpick with my fingers arched but he wants me to keep my fingers almost straight and pull with like the fleshy part of my fingers and end up resting my finger on the next string after i hit it.

my question: is it really that necessary or just his opinion that he's trying to get me into...cause ive seen professionals play the way i do
Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
Get a boner and slap your school doctor in the face with your penis.

It'll be funny.

Haiku by of friend of mine:
Fat guy play the bass
Get your jam on, get your jam
And peanut butter

Live Fast, Die Fun
when you say professionals, are you talking about flea?

because he was self-taught

and learning the proper way might make it easier and more economical to play
Originally Posted by smb
I'm an arrogant bastard - I thought I was good before I'd plucked a note. I was right, of course.

Quote by MetalBass 77
sonsie knows all
Quote by sonsie
when you say professionals, are you talking about flea?

because he was self-taught

and learning the proper way might make it easier and more economical to play

flea, stefan lessard, cliff burton at times...some others too.