Ok so I've been playing for like 3-4 months now. I'm making a good amount of practice. And the only reason I am posting this here and not in the Basic's forum is becuase I feel I will get a better answer from here. I've read alot of posts here and they always seem to help more for me.

Anyways, my picking hand shoulder, right shoulder, gets very very tight, no where else on my arms is it tight or getting tired. But I play for a little amount of time and have to take a break to stretch out that shoulder becuase of the tension I get. How can I relax this? I've slowed it down, even slowing it done it still ends up getting tight.

Then also, my fretting hand seems to be alot slower than my picking hand, even with the tension in my arm, I know practice and biulding up slow will help, but like right now I can just alt pick faster than my hammer-on/pull-off's happen. I find this a problem and feel it is really slowing me down alot. Any help would be great.

And if this should be in the basics forum, please move it there admin. Thanks UG!!
MY GEAR:

ESP LTD MH-50 W/ TREMOLO
ROLAND CUBE 15X
BOSS DS-2 TURBO DISTORTION
Dunlop Ultrex Jazz III
NEW: Dunlop Dimebag Crybaby from Hell
NEW: EHX: Small Clone Chorus Pedal
Just give it time. Everything's tense when you first start; it feels awkward and unnatural. Just give it time, you should loosen up in a couple months.
WHY IS EVERYONE IN THE PIT A FUCKING METALCORE KID
like Kartman says, once you get more acquainted with guitar, you'll be able to focus on loosening up.
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!
Are you picking with your forearm? Only your wrist should move. I cant see how your shoulder can tighten up unless you're using your forearm.