Hi, I just started playing guitar a couple days ago. On the song Smells Like Teen Spirit, I can do everything except the intro and chorus, because I always mess up the power chords (either do them too slow or too fast and I hit extra strings)
Any help?
keep practicing.
'79 Fender Deluxe Reverb
Gibson Les Paul Classic
Fender Stratocaster
Ibanez TS9, Keeley TS9 Baked Mod
Zendrive

LOOOOOK INTOOOOOO THEEEE PICCCTUREEEEEEEEE

Member of UG's Gain Whores - pm gpderek09 to join
Quote by valdean
It will come with time.
Try focusing on other songs too.

do you have any easy songs to suggest?
You're also going to want to learn to only hit the strings you want to play. So try and learn to only hit the thickest two or three strings, it'll help a lot.

Dunlop 535Q Wah, Ibanez TS-9, EHX LBM
Mesa/Boogie Express 5:25
MXR 6-band EQ, Boss NS-2, Boss PS-5, MXR Phase 90, MXR Carbon Copy

GAS: Micro POG

Quote by Zugunruhe
this was the funniest thing ive seen in the pit for weeks.

^about me
use the bottom of your fretting fingers to mute the extra strings and your middle finger to mute the 6th/low E when your playing power chords on the 5th/A string
if you can do that you can play as fast as you want without making any unwanted noise
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
Quote by sirgaratis
do you have any easy songs to suggest?

There's a whole thread on it. Search it, and I think it's stickied somewhere too.

Dunlop 535Q Wah, Ibanez TS-9, EHX LBM
Mesa/Boogie Express 5:25
MXR 6-band EQ, Boss NS-2, Boss PS-5, MXR Phase 90, MXR Carbon Copy

GAS: Micro POG

Quote by Zugunruhe
this was the funniest thing ive seen in the pit for weeks.

^about me
Last edited by Cutlass_253 at Sep 16, 2008,
Quote by Cutlass_253
There's a whole thread on it. Search it, and I think it's stickied somewhere too.

Sure but it's not specific to power chords.