Hey there I'm pretty new to guitar. I'm the on again off again type. Basically I havent felt like ive made any progress obviously because i dont play much and i stop sometimes but I learn better when I have more of a guideline as to what I should be working on and what comes next in practice.

If any of you could help compose me a list of things I should learn in order that would be great or even some songs that I should my work my way through.

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thank you!
hmmm....
green day - brain stew
green day - longview
the offspring - pretty fly
system of a down - sugar
system of a down - roulette
system of a down - toxicity (anything off the toxicity album really)
drowning pool - bodies
rage against the machine - killing in the name of (all but solo)
blink 182 - whats my age again?
sum 41 - fat lip
tool - schism
incubus - aqueous transmission
red hot chili peppers - californication
incubus - drive

that should give you a good start
remember, it takes time and a lot of practice. practice the riffs, then play along with the songs. just keep at it, keep doing it and you'll get better.
Last edited by reelbigfish2020 at Sep 16, 2008,
start with like easy song like green day and work your way up to harder bands like queen
There will be some variables, but I'll start with the basics that helped me.

Find some simple songs that you like, with maybe 3 chords. Most AC/DC songs work for that purpose. It's important to correlate the development of your technique to something worthwhile and enjoyable, or else you might as well be staring at a bunch of binary code on a computer screen.

Learn power chords for A, C, D, E, & G. Then learn the acoustic styled version of those same chords.