most of the time when i play guitar the joints on my left hand thumb hurts.. even just playing the pentatonic scale am I playing wrong?.. I've been playing guitar for about 4 months now..
How much pressure are you putting on the back of the neck? You should not use any more force than neccisary to hold the neck in place where you want and press the strings only enough to clearly ring the notes. Any extra force you use is causing uneeded tension and could cause your thumb to get sore. Take minute and think about how hard you are gripping and fretting. Its not going to feel totally natural at 4 months so this is normal. Once you are aware of it you can practice to play with a lighter feel.

I cant really give any other advice than that without seeing you play. If it hurts real bad dont injure yourself give it a rest.
do you have some sort of arthritis or other types of inflammations? that could be a prob as well as the amount of tension you're creating with your thumb too.
Quote by Duff_McGee
Everyone knows that the day the Metallica ends, the world ends.
What size are your hands? I mean, are they particularly small or large?

Don't worry, I don't have a hand fetish or anything

/] 三方 [\
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
nah I dont have arthritis.. I'm 15 :p I have an average 15yr old hand..

I'm not pushing hard either.. maybe I'm doing it wrong?.. can someone show me the right thumb position?

thanks for the replies.
There is no 'right' thumb position... some teachers will say 'do it like this', but they're just idiots with an opinion. Personally, I put my thumb over the top, I can play notes on the low E with it, or just leave it hanging, then put it lower when I'm playing leads on the thinner strings.

You should ask your doctor, if it makes it too hard to play.
hmm I tried playing with the thumb over the top, it's feels kinda odd.. but it doesn't hurt anymore, but the problem is when I need to use some barre chords :P anyway thanks for the tip.