I have a fender stratocaster which comes with a 5 way pickup selector. the thing is, i dont use my middle pickup. i play lots of deep purple so i dont see the need for the middle pickup. also its troublesome to switch to the middle position while playing cos u cant just whack it up or whack it down.

i've nvr modded a guitar by myself before, so i'm a newbie at this. neither have i even tried installing pickups before.

is it possible if someone could explain how i could change my 5 way switch to 3 way? or even 2 way if that is possible?

thanks in advance..
yeah buy a three way switch XD

then re wire it

that would be best

or you could just cut the wires from the pickup so the middle posistion is a kill
Quote by Deliriumbassist
Antisocial Behaviour Order. A chav's equivalent of GCSEs.
If you're unsure, take it to a professional. Even if you just want to ask advice, take it to a professional.

Anyway, for a 3-single, 1 Volume, 1 Tone strat, here's what you should have:
http://www.seymourduncan.com/support/wiring-diagrams/schematics.php?schematic=3s_1v_1t_5w

You'll want to take out the middle pickup and remove the wiring from it, replacing the 5-way switch with a 3-way like this:
http://www.seymourduncan.com/support/wiring-diagrams/schematics.php?schematic=2singlecoils1vol1tone1switc
Jackson Kelly KE3 w/P-Rails; Aria Pro II TSB-350
• ZVex Fuzz Factory; DigiTech Whammy; Danelectro Fish & Chips; Marshall ED1; Fulltone OCD; DigiTech Whammy; Marshall JMP1; Boss CE3; Vox AC4TV

EMU 0404; Reason/Record; M-Audio AV40
Quote by jaffawoman
If you're unsure, take it to a professional. Even if you just want to ask advice, take it to a professional.

Anyway, for a 3-single, 1 Volume, 1 Tone strat, here's what you should have:
http://www.seymourduncan.com/support/wiring-diagrams/schematics.php?schematic=3s_1v_1t_5w

You'll want to take out the middle pickup and remove the wiring from it, replacing the 5-way switch with a 3-way like this: