hey i'm just a little confused on what the rhythm guitarist does.

i get that he is suppose to usually play chords but like what does he?she strum to? the beat (drums) lead guitar of the vocals?

thanks (sorry if I sound like a noob)
Rhythm guitarist plays rhythm
#1 Bad Astronaut Fan
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination

Im the crazy person on the tv show intervention who does duster.
ok as a rhythm guitarist myself we basically have 2 jobs, one is to yes strum chords in a certain chord progression which usually goes along with a lead guitarist main riff. Our second job is to play harmonized versions of riffs that the lead guitarists play. i am technically a rhythm/lead guitarist because at times i switch off with the lead guitarist so he can play chords while i play riffs or my own solo so that's basically a rhythm guitarist. Also the rhythm which they play can vary and doesn't necessarily have to go along with the drums
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination
Quote by dalamas
Rhythm guitarist plays rhythm

wow really

I mean like if you look here on ug for chords it gives you the chords and the lyrics and wat time to change from chord to chord but it does give the strumming

so how do you know what to strum to
I think the way it works is rhythm plays harmony and lead plays melody. I also tend to think of rhythm guitarists as a fill for when the lead is doing some kind of solo or riff, and they help it sound less empty by keeping up the main riff like bass and drums do.
If the lead guitarist already has his part written you play the chords that he's outlining.

If you're writing your part first you just come up with a progression that starts to create a mood that works with the song.

You don't need to strum the same beat as the drummer but generally you'll want to accentuate the beat.