Hey i have been playing bass for a few years now and recently i've seen a few bassists in bands strumming a bass guitar and i was wondering how you do this and what it's all about! Does anyone out there have a clue about what this is? Please help me out if you have anything! Thanks!
pick+chords?
Quote by guitarhero_764
I think you need to stop caring what people think about it. I stayed home all day today and masturbated like 5 times. Fucking blast.

Ibanez ATK300 ◈ Sansamp VT Bass ◈ EHX Nano Small Stone ◈ Hartke LH500 ◈ Ashdown/Celestion 115
bass chords can be done by strumming, but I wouldn't recommend it...

Maybe they're just using a pick in an aggressive manner?
"I hope I die before I get old"-Words of Pete Townsend, 1945-

"I hope I die before I turn into Pete Townsend"-Words of Kurt Cobain, 1967-1994

Funny old world eh.
Quote by wouldyakindly
bass chords can be done by strumming, but I wouldn't recommend it...

Maybe they're just using a pick in an aggressive manner?

Uh... bass chords can sound amazing, and you can get them in all sorts of different ways, tapping, strumming, flamenco style strumming, popping...
Quote by Deliriumbassist

My two pennies- theory. Learn it.
Skills. Get them.
Hair. Grow it to your ass.

Quote by Dempsey68
i can only keep it up for about 30 seconds before my fingers cramp up =[

Quote by Horsedick.MPEG
Sorry, but because you listen to Tool doesn't mean you're intelligent.
chords can help you bring a different sound to the table. les claypool for one is a big user of srumming chords out on a bass. songs like Too Many Puppies and Golden Boy(my shout out to Anarkee...) have large parts where he is strumming flamenco style.
And "To Defy the laws of tradition" also has this technique.