Hi, Just wanted to thank everybody in advance for any replies but I have a very newbie question. I've been playing guitar for about 7 months and would like to know how you know when to change strings, outside of them breaking of course. I'm thinking it might be time but I'm not really sure.
i change my strings when 1. they break (duh) 2. i notice dirt 3. they sounds bad 4. You can see the string starting to break
<\\\SuBLiME\\\> ~ ~ ~~

This is Bunny. Put him in your signature and help him on his way to world domination ...
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
Are they rusty? Dirty? Do they still stay in tune? Are they lifeless, like they've lost a lot of their tone?

I usually change mine every 5 or 6 months because I'm lazy and cheap. Some people prefer to change every month or couple weeks. In my opinion, seven months is a fairly long time and given that strings aren't terribly expensive I'd say go ahead and change em.
Breedlove Studio D25/SM Acoustic
Epiphone Les Paul Custom w/ EMGs
B-52 AT-212 Tube Amp
MXR 10 Band EQ
Digitech Bad Monkey
Boss RC-2 Loop Station
yeah...... sad but true the answer is pretty much like any other. Budget. Obviously you would want to change strings as often as possible..... to an extent. I usually change every 2-3 weeks. Depends on how many hours you're on them. All of those "string saver" products IMO only accelerate the deterioration of the strings. As soon as it's not smooth to slide up and down I usually change.

You can't beat fresh strings and your overall tone is way better anyway..... so change em whenever you can.
96 Gibson Les Paul Goldtop
95 Strat w/ Lindy Fralins
Ibanez JS1000
Orange AD30HTC
Vox AC30
Blue Alnico Cab
Budda Wah
Barber Tone Press
Keeley NOVA Wah
Pederson Strobo
Keeley TS-808
HBE Chorus
T-Rex Delay
Red Witch Moon Phase