I recently purchased a Randall RG50TC tube amp & I'm loving it so far with my Jackson DKMGT w/ EMG 81/85 active pickups (I play mostly on the EMG 81 pickup). It's used mostly for hard rock/metal (Dan Donegan's tone from Disturbed).

It comes with everything stock (was bought used), though I was wondering if there would be any major difference if I upgrade certain parts. I'm still a bit new to tube amps, but I was thinking I'd give it a few months before I upgrade any parts so that I'd actually be able to tell the difference.

Here's what it comes with stock:
  • 1 X 12” Celestion Seventy 80
  • Four 12AX7EH Preamp Tubes
  • Two 5881 Power Tubes

Does anyone have any suggestions for a speaker, preamp tubes, and power tubes?
Check out EV speakers.

You can never go wrong with JJ tubes.
Quote by zgr0826
My culture is worthless and absolutely inferior to the almighty Leaf.

Quote by JustRooster
I incurred the wrath of the Association of White Knights. Specifically the Parent's Basement branch of service.
Hey again.

I've decided on doing a speaker upgrade from the Celestion Seventy 80's to Celestion Vintage 30's. I've also decided on upgrading the (4) preamp tubes from 12AX7EH's to Tung-Sol 12AX7's, and the (2) power tubes from 5881's to either:

JJ 6L6's
JJ EL34's
Tung-Sol 6L6's

I have two questions:

Would an upgrade of preamp tubes (specifically the ones listed) really make a difference? Also, is anyone familiar with the two Randall RG50TC overdrive channels? I was wondering if I have, let's say, a JJ 6L6 power tube in slot 1, and a Tung-Sol 6L6 tube in slot 2. Would they be accessed separately through the two overdrive channels, or is it just best to have (2) of the same power tubes?

Excuse my ignorance but I am still a bit new to tube amplifiers, though I'm still looking through other threads (including the stickies).

Thanks for your time!
Quote by keennay
Hey again.