Hi
I'm still a beginner, I heard many on this site saying that theory is kinda' important, Now I wanna learn theory, even though I'm not gonna pursue a career in music or anything, maybe make some songs when I get better. But many say that you need a good teacher for theory. Now there is only 1 guitar tuition place in my town, and it charges about $35 for a 40 minute lesson, which I'm absolutely not taking.
So, is a teacher really needed to learn theory? Oh, and one more thing, I can't find any books that teach theory either, so I'd have to learn using the internet.

Summary, do I really need a teacher to learn theory? And what are some good sites that would at least help me learn basic theory? At least enough to understand what other guitarists are talking about, and to be able to improvise and stuff?

I would really appreciate it if anyone helped me.

Thanks a lot in advance.
theres a ridiculous amount of theory books out there! you might have to order them though....

and no, a teacher is not NECESSARY.. but its convenient to have someone to ask to clarify any questions you might have. theory can be confusing so having someone to help you is nice. there are some helpful people in the MT area who are more than willing to clarify anything for you.

edit: speaking of which, you might want to move this post to the music theory section of the forums.