I am a little new to this recording set up thing and I had a few questions.

My boyfriend is a voice-over artist and he has a few mics he doesn't use anymore. I found a Octava MK319 he said I can use. From what I read this is actually a very nice vocal mic, but I know that doesn't make it an instrument mic. From what I read it will work just fine for instruments, it adds very little, if any, color.

So I have a mic that I can use for now, it is a condenser mic so I need an interface that can power it. I was looking around and I saw the TP UX2. This seems like it might be what I am looking for. It has phantom power, which I need for my mic.

So my question is(it may seem pretty simple): Do you have to use the software that is included with it?

I don't want to use any of that modeling stuff because I have a nice amp. I would like to record right to Garage Band or Audacity, without "adding" anything to the sound.

Is this what I am looking for or am I way off track?
♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪
Last edited by thefrigginbob at Sep 22, 2008,
I'm pretty sure if I know what you're talking about, you can just plug the mic in and put it by your amp and record with Audacity. I mean that's what you do for vocals anyways so I don't see why you couldn't be able to.
Also can I record 2 guitars at once, one with microphone and another with direct input?

Can you use the modeling of Gearbox but record with another program?

When you are using monitors on the toneport is it giving you the dry signal or the signal AFTER the gearbox model and effects are added?

I saw the stickied video, He says that you should absolutely avoid USB 1.1 but doesn't explain why. Can anyone give me a little more detail on that?

I am actually thinking of the KB37 because a midi controller would be really nice to have around.... So I would assume the features are the same? or am I losing anything going for the KB37?

Thanks.
♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪♪