Hey guys, I have the oppurtunity to buy a Crate 4x12 Half-stack with Celestion V30s for around $200. Now, I know that Mesa Cabinets contain a 4x12 with Celestion V30s also. Would there be any difference between the Crate cabinet with Celestions and say a Mesa Cab with Celestions?

Also, Considering the fact that new Celestion V30s go for $120 new at MF. Would it be a good deal to buy the cab just for the celestions and use them as an upgrade for 212 Tube Combo?

Thanks in advance.
It sounds like a decent deal.

Try before you buy. And hope that it's not made of MDF.
Quote by imgooley
It sounds like a decent deal.

Try before you buy. And hope that it's not made of MDF.

Thanks for the quick response.

Yea i thought it was a good deal myself, but I wanted to consult with experts. I am planning on trying it. I know its in good condition because the seller says teh cabs been sitting in a studio for quite sometime.

I am a noob though, what is MDF?

Also, would this be comparable to a Mesa 4x12 Cab?
Medium Density Fiberboard.

Also, do you have a link to the cab, or at least a model name?
Quote by imgooley
Medium Density Fiberboard.

Also, do you have a link to the cab, or at least a model name?

no link to the cab, but the guy sent me a pic.
Attachments:
Crate 4X12 cab3.jpg
Do you have a model name?

If it's a Flexwave cab, then no. The Blue Voodoo cab isn't super bad, and since it has V30's it would be decent.

EDIT: Although it might be worth it for the speakers.
i don't have the model name, but I did email the guy asking him if he knew. So we'll see. I'm sure the guy isn't selling a Blue Voodoo Cab. Would it be worth it to buy this cab and use it as an output for my 212 Valveking? Or should I just get it, and replace the speakers in my 212 VK with the Celestions.

I was hoping it would be decent enough for small gigs. I figured worst come to worst, It could upgrade my old SS Crate Head that my friend might borrow for the gigs as well.