i have playing guitar for all of about a week and a half with my first lesson in there somewhere. I bought myself a used house brand guitar(redfox...no idea who made it) for $135 and am using my fathers OLD Pevey Pacer... Now my question is should i buy a decent amp or keep using this one. I love playing and think i am progressing ok for a newbie and plan to keep playing. I have almost 10 years experience on the piano so reading and understanding music is nothing new for me...but doing it on the guitar takes some getting used too. Everytime i turn the amp on it sounds like the gremlins scatter, it lets out this whine and when i turn up the volume it crackles like crazy. Or should i play with this till i get better. I have learnt some scales and some basic chords and some of Metallica's ONE. Any advice for a guy just starting out on what gear to have? Thanks to all who reply
playing a week and a half, and already considering new gear? give it a few months to make sure it's worth the investment, then amp upgrade, followed by guitar upgrade.
Main Gear List:
Guitars:
Jackson RR7
Agile AL-3100 Double Bound
1977 Fender Jazz Bass
Amp:
Blackstar HT-5
peavey bass amp
Effects:
EHX Metal Muff
Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah
Danelectro 7-band EQ
you could probably pick upa pretty cheap practice amp... it wont be particularly fantastic in the tone depaartment, but it wont have the crackle etc that your dads old amp has....

Also, this forum is for new member introductions and general questions about running the site, i would suggest going to the Guitar gear and Acessories forum

wait til you get better and decide what kind of sound you want from the amp, because what sounds good now to you might sound like shit when you recognize tonality in the amps/ preamps/ distortions later. and who knows maybe you'll decide you really don't care for guitar after a year or two