Hi, I'm a beginner and I'd like to ask a few questions about scales.
I have learned 5 positions of the A minor Pentatonic scale: (http://www.dolphinstreet.com/guitar_lessons/minor_pentatonic_patterns/).
Why aren't there more positions when there are notes in the scale with frets below 5 and frets above 17? I guess I mean these positions don't cover all the notes of the scale. (http://www.all-guitar-chords.com/guitar_scales.php?qqq=FULL&scch=A&scchnam=Pentatonic+Minor&get2=Get&t=0&choice=1) BTW I have 24 frets on my electric.

Now I want to learn the C Major scale, and I can't find the positions anywhere (I found this: http://www.guitarists.net/scales/index.php but can it really be true, that I should learn all those 12 positions? Even all those 12 positions don't cover the entire fretboard).
So I thought it would be good to know how you construct the positions if you know all the notes of a scale. Is there a technique so I can do this on any scale that I want to learn? Which note do you start at? Etc. I noticed that the first of those 5 positions of the A minor pentatonic scale is an A. So does the first position start at the first root note?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by matiasfjeldmark at Sep 23, 2008,
man your confusing me because if you go to each note in the scale your get a mode so it should cover every note in the scale. in pentatonic there are 5 modes and in c major there are 7 modes- c ionian(major), d dorian, e phygian, f lydian, g mixolydian, a aeolian(minor), and b locrian
Quote by JJAtwood
man your confusing me because if you go to each note in the scale your get a mode so it should cover every note in the scale. in pentatonic there are 5 modes and in c major there are 7 modes- c ionian(major), d dorian, e phygian, f lydian, g mixolydian, a aeolian(minor), and b locrian
What do modes have to do with this?