what if your amp doesn't have an fx loop?
Quote by david_highland
Uh oh......you just had to go and piss off danielrobbyshor, now we're all ****ed.

Quote by Grundy0
How can an orgy be 'Nazi-style'? What did he stop halfway through and incinerate a jew?
Where would the heat go? That thing must get RED FRIGGIN HOT!!!

Anyway.....what do you guys think of the Weber MiniMass?

Or should I blow some serious cash on a Hotplate?
looks cool. I'd like to try one of those on my amp because my ears will get blown out at any volume level above 2-3.
Well, the one thing that raises a flag for me is that it work through the FX loop.

Most other boxes that perform this kind of function actually hook up to your speaker outputs and basically act as a transformer, reducing the overall speaker volume, yet providing your amp with the proper impedance (resistance) so It won't blow up on you.

This seems like a quick and dirty way of doing things. Also, I'm no electronics expert, but I beleive the "return" comes before the power section, so the Power Tubes aren't being driven as hard as they should be in order to get the tone he's describing. It probably still sounds good, but it is probably not exactly what he's describing.

Also it just occurred to me you could do the exact same thing with a volume pedal.
Washburn Dime 333, Ibanez RG7620, LTD MH250NT w/ EMG 89x's
Modded Boss Metal Zone, Boss CE-5, DD-3, Intellifex
Jet City JCA2112RC, ADA MP-1 Preamp,
GK 400RB Bass head
Marshall and Ampeg 4x12 cabs
I swear this came up here once already? A couple of the real sharp fellas wrote it off as being a volume knob and NOT an actual attenuator...

But don't listen to me, I honestly have no clue. Sounds like a fake since I remember someone mentioning "No that goes through the FX loop, it's just a volume knob."
Quote by sargasm
There are no genres in metal that end with "core."
Last edited by `digitaL.braVo at Sep 25, 2008,
Yup, it's just a volume knob in a box - it's not an attenuator.