Im new to tubes,so I have a few little questions.

Im soon going to be ordering a Bugera 6260 head,which comes with 5 12AX7 tubes and 4 6L6 tubes (which can be converted to EL34).Im not into an overwhelming amount of gain,so would the AX7's be right for me? I mostly play blues/blues based rock.

Also should I play the stock valves,or switch them out as soon as I get the head? Iv always imagined that changing them would be easy,but Iv also heard people talking about taking the head to a tech to change them.
What doesn't kill you,only makes you pissed off.
Yes, the 12AX7s are good for rock and blues. If you wanted to lower the gain 12AU7s would be in order. I believe 12AT7s are somewhere in between. Someone please enlighten me here.
As for the 6L6 vs EL34 debate, it depends on whether you are into the American voicing (Fender, Mesa, etc.) or British (Marshall is the big one here). EL for British- 6L for American.
Also, there may be a claim somewhere that says you won't have to bias your amp (Mesa says this), but unless it is cathode biased, this is a lie. If you want the most out of your amp, have a tech install a bias pot in it for you.
Preamp tubes don't make as big of a difference in your sound as power tubes.
The preamp is mostly just to warm up your signal.
As for the power tubes, all I can say is try the stock ones out. From what info you've given us, I'm thinking you will end up swapping the 6L6s out for EL34s, but it's entirely possible that you may like the sound of the stock tubes.

And, unless you know how to bias your amp, you will need to take it to a tech to swap out the tubes.

Edit - ^Wait. Cathode biased amps don't have to be biased to swap out tubes?
So I can just put an EL34 into my Epi VJ without doing anything else?
Click for charity.

Pidgeot of the Pokemon Club
PM Calebrocker to join.

92% of UGers jump on annoying bandwagons. Don't put this in your sig if you're one of the 8% with an opinion.
Last edited by Haha, Crackhead at Sep 25, 2008,