Ok, so i have been playing for about 2 1/2 years and i wanted to start writing some songs and stuff. I am into all kinds of metal from Thrash, Black, Death, Progressive, Heavy, etc. etc. etc. However, everytime i pick up the guitar... i am confused as to where to start. Please help me on this. I know you can't actually make me a good riff writer or anything, but just some tips on how to improve.
use some scales on ur riff writing. mix them up and/or use similar shapes some of ur fave songs use but change it up so its ur own nd ur not copying.
One of the best things (IMO the best thing) one can do as a songwriter is develop your ear. LISTEN to what you are playing. Alot of the guitar players look at the guitar and think in terms of frets and bends and whatnot when writing, which may work for some, but I think the most bang for your buck is found in doing some relative pitch training and to not be to critical. Try closing your eyes next time you write and LISTEN to where the riff/song should go. Hum it out if that helps.

Your songwriting will get better if you just keep practicing it.
My Music Videos

Guitars:
Breedlove Revival Series OM
Crosby Fingerstyle Model
Voyage-Air VAOM-06
Fender Stratocaster (American)
Fender Nashville Deluxe Tele
Quote by highwaysalmon
One of the best things (IMO the best thing) one can do as a songwriter is develop your ear. LISTEN to what you are playing. Alot of the guitar players look at the guitar and think in terms of frets and bends and whatnot when writing, which may work for some, but I think the most bang for your buck is found in doing some relative pitch training and to not be to critical. Try closing your eyes next time you write and LISTEN to where the riff/song should go. Hum it out if that helps.

Your songwriting will get better if you just keep practicing it.

damn right