I am looking into buying some new equipment and was wanting to get a few opinions. Do you think I should get a jcm2000dsl head and 2 1960 cabinets...or should I go with a rack type setup with a preamp, power amp, and then 2 4x12 cabinets??? I like to run my sound through effects so I'm not worried about getting effects from a head unit, I do want the cleanest sound that I can get without alot of noise.
are you playing stadiums?
My Gear

Fender Deluxe Players Stratocaster
Marshall DSL 50 with 1960A
no, the power amp would be somewhere in the 100watt range...the largest place that I play right now is places like six flags...so maybe the size of a high school baseball field. I just want the best sound I can get without background noise from the amp.
Quote by xander307
are you playing stadiums?

STFU n00b

By that I mean, if he has the dough, let him spend it.

Anyway, If you get most of your tone from effects, or always run effects, a rack would work.

I'm not a proponent of racks, but that's because they wouldn't work for what I do (I don't run effects).

What you could do is get a head and just run rack effects with it.
Well, i cant tell you much about racks, but the DSL heads are really good so i'd definatly recommend them, dont mean to sound a dick but if its not totally nessacary dont bother with a full stack, it'll be a pain in the ass, unless you have roadies :P
My Gear

Fender Deluxe Players Stratocaster
Marshall DSL 50 with 1960A
Racks do not necessarily have to involve effects...

The versatility of a rack is unrivalled due to the fact you can change which pre-amp you're using with which power amp.

As i said, doesnt have to involve effects.
Gibson LP w/SD59+PRS Dragon II
Fender 52RI Hotrod Tele
PRS Tremonti SE w/Bulldog Extremist/Black Label

Cornford MK50H & 2x12
Marshall JMP-1

TC Electronics G-System

MacBook + Ableton Live
Quote by xander307