So, I thought I'd relate a story to all you fellow bass lovers, haters and players simply because you can't find a bassist and switched from guitar...ers....

My father is... well, was a bassist. He's 49 right now and is unfortunately afflicted with several nerve impairing conditions that even doctors can't tell him a straight answer for. They don't impair him from living, but he has trouble walking, his joints stiffen and lock up easily, he trips over his own toes for no reason and he can't play bass for more than 10 minutes without both his arms being in such agony he must put it down.

I am a bassist. I picked it up after my dad and he's always been the most supportive person.

My dad owns a 1968 Fender Telecaster 4-string bass. That's right. Not a Precision, a Telecaster.
http://i34.tinypic.com/rutw15.jpg - If you wish to see it
http://i33.tinypic.com/bfl846.jpg - The headstock
-warning, pics are very large-

Anyway, he has owned this magnificant creation for over 18 years. He bought it, third hand from a bloke who needed to fix his posty bike. My dad is the 3rd owner of it ever. It has been played properly, for hours a day, at countless gigs and everything else that is involved in the life of a real instrument. When Dad bought it, he was fitted with a Gibson PAF guitar pickup and had a huge chunk out of the middle, the only pickup that would fit is a Jackson bass pickup. It's a fantastic instrument and a lot of my best band material has been written while fiddling around on it.

This week, my Dad is selling his bass. He needs the money for reasons that are irrelevent. Unfortunately, he is selling it for around $2800 aus. He has no choice as the body as seen so much use, no one else will pay more for it.

To be honest, as I type this, I'm not afraid to say that I'm welling up a bit. It's been a constant since I can remember. Dad playing this bass or it being on its stand in the corner... It's more than an instrument, it's almost part of my surroundings.