Page 1 of 2
Hi,

I've been reading these threads and project guitar tutorials for a while now and I think I'm ready to start getting my stuff together.

Basically this is my first build and I've gathered my specs together and would like some comments and suggestions.

Alder body,
Flame maple veneer in purple,
Unpainted Maple-Walnut-Maple bolt on neck
Ebony fretboard pre-slotted 24 frets(16" radius),
25.5" scale,
OFR with 42mm locking nut(I know its gonna be hard for a first build),
Scarfed headstock 13 deg,
Sharkfin MOP inlays,
Gotoh tuners,
Jumbo fretwire,
Black or Gold hardware,
Conventional RG controls,
H-S-H pickup config. (not sure which, I was thinking about evo's)

Any help would be awesome.

Thanks,
Sam
man, the FR would be hard to route in the wood... cos I tried and I wasnt able to manage jajajaj so... Hope u the best!
TH3 G3Ar
- JCM 900 SL-X and SV MKII 100HD with LIne 6 sv412
-Bunch of pedals ( WD,BM,NR-2...)
-Ibanez Universe uv777pbk,Rg 2550&321mh
-http://backtorlyeh.bandcamp.com/
Quote by a_man
^ Cool. Im somewhat worried about doing it

Screw the templates to the body, limit the router plunge depth, then follow the templates with a guided cutter - there's pretty much no room for error.
thanks for that

EDIT: wont the screws leave massive holes in the body?
Last edited by a_man at Sep 28, 2008,
Double sided sticky tape FTW!

sounds like a cool build, look forward to it.

Quote by dogismycopilot
Absent Mind, words cant express how much i love you. Id bone you, oh yea.

Quote by lumberjack
Absent Mind is, as usual, completely correct.

Quote by littlemurph7976
Id like to make my love for Neil public knowledge as he is a beautiful man
Also what would the neck angle be on a guitar with an OFR?
what style of music do you want the pups for?

and it depends on how much the floyd is recessed, and its adjustment height, probably about 1 or 2 degrees I think, I dont know about OFR dimensions though.

Quote by dogismycopilot

Quote by lumberjack