alright: the usual intro to all of my threads

I've been playing for only about 10 months. I'm decently good for the amount of time i've been playing (i am currently working on sweeps, which i have gotten to a reasonably speed. Not yngwie or anything but to the point where it sounds like shred.) I'm left handed. I'm a noob.

Alright so i started working on some legato today. I got it to sloppy sixteenths at 80 bpm.

BUT GOD MY LEFT HAND/WRIST HURTS. SERIOUSLY. I HAVE TO USE CAPS TO DESCRIBE IT.

I think its just because of the fifth fret to ninth fret stretch that are on the E and the A, but iunno. My left hand has never really hurt before (other than on the tips when i first started).

What should i do?
My gear:
PRS SE custom
~!~--Peavey XXX super 40 EFX --~!~
Peavey VK 112

===WGS Vet30
===JJ power tubes

---Pedals:
-ISP Decimator
-Digitech Bad Monkey
-Crybaby wah
-Korg Pitchblack
-Danelectro FnC EQ
Rest your arm until the pain goes, then continue practice.

Don't practice so intensively which is probably what you're doing, and always warm up thoroughly - stretch all your arm and hand muscles so you don't strain them!
Gear:

Gibson Les Paul Custom (Ebony)
USA Jackson KV2 Sunburst
Jackson KE7
BC Rich NJ Classic Mockingbird

Marshall JVM410H
Marshall 1960A

Korg Pitchblack
MXR Super Comp
Dunlop Slash Wah
ISP Decimator
Rest, and also, Sweeping might sound cool to other people who dont play and dont see the mistakes, but sloppy sweeping seen by another guitarist is looked down upon greatly.
Its better to be a slower more accurate player that makes things sound nice rather then a fast sloppy guitarists who shreds like shit.
Just throwin that out there.
LIFE IS TOO SHORT NOT TO LET YOUR MIND SPREAD WINGS AND TAKE FLIGHT

Quote by KeepOnRotting
+Infinity. This dude knows good metal.
warmup omgwtfbbq?

oh, i'll try that next time. I picked up my guitar after about 3 hours of not playing and started where i left off on the metronome.