Isn't it pretty much like playing a vertical fretless bass?

Do you have a reasonable ear?
Quote by lolcats
Isn't it pretty much like playing a vertical fretless bass?

Do you have a reasonable ear?

Yes.

it's not really like playing vertical fretless, because there are a shedload of technqiues you find only on contrabass- such as jumping bow, col legno, pizzicato...
Meh. YOu'd hurt yourself if you didn't have a teacher IMO.
It's probebly the hardest instrument I've ever played.
The left hand technique is really stange too.
Quote by Banjocal
sht up u flthy librl foogit stfu u soo mad n butthurdt ur ass is an analpocolypse cuz ur so gay "my ass hrts so mcuh" - u. your rectally vexed n anlly angushed lolo go bck 2 asslnd lolol
Quote by Fassa Albrecht
Might be worth pointing out I'm a LH bassist

I think that classical instruments are all played in the same manner.
Quote by Fassa Albrecht
I don't have time for lessons.

then where do you have time from regular practice
Quote by seljer
then where do you have time from regular practice

I have two hours bass practice a day...I could do more if I wanted.
From what I've read it sounds like you're quite intent on doing it, confident you can do it, know a good amount about it already, and refuse to take lessons anyway. So... why the thread?? Do it already
I love my...

Parker Nitefly Mojo - custom
Schecter 006 Hellraiser
Ibanez S470QS

Mesa / Boogie F-50
Vox AD50VT

Seagull Artist Studio cutaway I-beam

Ibanez ATK700
Ibanez Soundwave 35
Quote by tasty licks
From what I've read it sounds like you're quite intent on doing it, confident you can do it, know a good amount about it already, and refuse to take lessons anyway. So... why the thread?? Do it already

Try the fact I don't have a contrabass of my own.
Quote by Fassa Albrecht
Yes.

it's not really like playing vertical fretless, because there are a shedload of technqiues you find only on contrabass- such as jumping bow, col legno, pizzicato...