Alright i've been playing Electric for around 2-3 years now. I've noticed that when I play with my friends and stuff, I start playing Bass like riffs on my guitar. I've always loved the Bass role in music.

So I've decided to buy one. *looks at bank account*..... dang so max, I can only spend 400$ on a Bass and Amp. I prefer to keep it below that.

Any suggestions on both the bass and amp? I'll just be jamming once and a while and experimenting with bass, with guitar still being my main instrument.
until you give me some genres or influences, I'm stickin with my sig.

welcome to the cool club!
Quote by FatalGear41
I wouldn't call what we have here on the Bass Forum a mentality. It's more like the sharing part of an AA meeting.

Quote by Jason Jillard
HUMANITY WHATS WRONG WITH YOU.

Warwick Fortress>>Acoustic AB50

http://www.myspace.com/rustingbloom
ive heard the squier vintage modified seris is good for the money. as for the amp the "acoustic" amp company i heard is really good for the money.
I play and listen to Alternative, Rock, some metal (kill Switch) and Heavy rock
A Squier Vintage modified precision bass will fit your genres perfectly.
-Instruments-
Squier frankenbass
LTD Deluxe EC-1000 in Vintage Black
1960's Banjuke
look at the humanity's sig and obey

x
Fender Geddy Lee Jazz
Warwick Corvette $$
Rockbass Streamer Fretless
Hartke HA5000
SWR Triad

Quote by Victory2134
I happen to enjoy every mankiss from shinhoman.
I'd say go with Humanitys sig, but do the following first:
1. Go to the local music store(s)
2. Try out the 200 dollar ranged peaveys, ibanezes, and squires
3. Find one you like, bring it to the counter, and tell them you'll buy it on the spot if they give you a 10-20ft cable, and don't let them try and trick you into a starter box, they're cheap but crap 95% of the time.
*3. You could also try to get a free hardshell case, they usually have used junkers lying around in the back.

Amp: