So I'm ordering a Crate V33 212 (The 33 Watt, with 2X 12 inch speakers) to upgrade from my Vox Valvetronix (It's not loud enough without sounding cruddy, but overall... I love the amp).

I play typically with clean channels but occasionally I use heavy gain settings (something that the Valvetronix gave me lots of)...

I'm also trading my Valvetronix for a few things...

1.) Some no name EQ pedal (Omnifex)?
2.) Boss DF-2 (Feedback control and distortion pedal)
3.) Some cash

Is the Distortion pedal and the amps gain channel going to be sufficient for good lead/metal tones?

Also, I'm playing with a band... we plan on doing small-medium gigs (Local pubs to small halls/venues)

The 33 Watt 2 X 12 will be good for these volumes... But is it going to over do it during practice?

Is the 18 Watt 2 X 12 a smarter choice?

Lastly, as I'm an amp noob (you may have already realized this), could someone direct me to a website that would give SIMPLE and easy instructions on biasing tubes, so I can do some research?
33watts is a good number. It won't over due it in practice. I know crate amps don't take THAT long to get a great loud sound, so keep it at around 5 and you'll be more than happy.

You don't need to bias unless there is something seriously wrong with the manufacturers settings.
Just curious for when I do need to change the tubes... I've also heard that the stock tubes are the Sovtek tubes which get a bad rap for being a bit hissy... and reviews state that changing the tubes made a world of difference...

(of course I'll decide this for myself)

also, other than volume, is there significant tonal differences between 1x12 and 2x12 amps?
It's quite loud.

I actually have the V33H and an AD50VT. I don't know what you mean about it sounding cruddy at loud volumes, as I've had mine dimed and it still sounded great.

The V33 is cathode biased, so you don't need to worry about biasing.
Quote by imgooley
It's quite loud.