Hi

I wonder if anyone can help me?!

My name is Rich and I've been playing guitar casually for about 5 or 6 years now. I have an Epiphone Les Paul and a Yamaha RGX A2 with a Roland Cube 20x practice amp

I've never had any lessons, when i first started I learned from books and everything else I've just picked up as I went sort of thing.

Basically I've seem to of hit a point where I'm not really learning or progressing any more.

What I tend to do most is play along to songs I like - both the original versions and some backing tracks. I use tabs from online somtimes but mostly just play by ear and try and work out the solos and stuff. I play along lead with the tune and stuff as well

I know open chords and barre chords, I know and can work out note names and do all the major, minors, sevenths etc etc

I know the basic scale and the pentatonic scale.

I just dont really know what to do next. I have a very low concentration span and while lessons are available to read online I find it hard to learn by reading text off a computer screen so I've never really tried that way.

I dont really know that much music thoery, I would like to be able to know how to improvise and make proper solos etc. As aposed to playing random stuff and hoping it sounds right

Whats the best way to move forward? I'm bored of playing the same things now. Should I invest in some professional tuition? If so what should I look for in an instructor as I've never had music lessons before.

If not are there any good books I could buy to learn from? Like I say I'd like to avoid reading from computer screens as I get distracted easily! Books are OK though.

I'm guessing I'd also benefit if I tried jamming with more experience guitarists too as I've never really done that.

Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated!
Start a band.

Professional tuition is always great but it's expensive and not as fun as starting a band.