I've been playing for 2 years now... and i always held the pick with my index, middle and thumb. Ive been watching some vids and realized most people use their index and thumb only. I looked stuff up about how to hold it and most said using thumb and index is the best way. I starting trying to do it this way... and its uncomfortable but i can play almost as well. When i tried doing a pinch harmonic however, i couldn't move my thumb down fast enough and if i tried the pick would just slip out. Now im new to pinch harmonics but i can sorta do them. What im really asking is... should i hold my pick with index and thumb or stick with how i always did it. If so, how do i do a pinch harmonic using only my index finger and thumb? help plz
index and thumb is easiest, but whatever on that, as far as pitch harmonics, you hold your hand and the pick normally then angle it whenever you strick the note so that the string rolls off of your pick onto your thumb, and then pull away. . .
Quote by paranoid joker

Metal, should kick you in the nuts, after you catch it messing around with your girlfriend.
and then make a sandwhich in your house and walk out.

Http://www.myspace.com/drowningiris
I pick the same way as you, dunno if its doing any harm, but I have no idea really
Yeah really I wouldn't worry about that stuff, I mean lots of great players have held the pick like you were. Just do what is most comfortable. I wouldn't really switch, unless it really bothers you.
My Gear:
Custom Fender 62' Reissue Strat
Carvin Custom Shop DC400T
Jackson SL3 Soloist
Fender Super-Sonic 112
Boss GT-10

Quote by XianXiuHong
000-000-000-000-000
PM------------------------

You can now play every Slayer song.
I hold it the same way also, and if that's what works best for you then do that.
Quote by InsomniaRocks

Thank you very much for that video...it makes a lot more sense now.